Trim Rehab and Day Sailing

I’ve left you hanging with removed, ugly eyebrow trim for weeks now. I’ve just recently made progress with that, and thought I would post an update.

The trim is fairly beat up. It’s lopsided from being sanded on while mounted on the boat, there are splits and gouges. The longest piece split part-way when I removed it. While examining it, I managed to break it into two pieces. The fastener holes are too shallow to hold bungs, and half of them were missing anyway.

Yesterday inspected the pieces and began work. First order of business was to repair the broken piece.

Here's the split. I was going to squirt glue into the crack, but wound up breaking it.

Here’s the split. I was going to squirt glue into the crack, but wound up breaking it.

Here it is repaired.  I used Gorilla Glue, and the repair is nearly invisible.

Here it is repaired. I used Gorilla Glue and three spring clamps. The repair is nearly invisible.

The old finish comes off easily when using a scraper and heat gun. I had all the pieces clean, front and back, in about an hour.

Tools for removing finish.

Tools for removing finish.

Here are the eyebrows with finish removed, scraped clean and ready for light sanding.

Here are the eyebrows with finish removed, scraped clean, lightly sanded, ready for new finish.

I measured the fastener holes against various sized drill bits until I found the right one. A 5/16 drill bit was needed to deepen the holes. I used my drill press and set the travel limiter so as not to drill straight through the piece. Hopefully, the material will now hold bungs well for another 34 years.

After lightly sanding, I wiped all the pieces down with solvent and applied Cetol.

Here's the first coat.  I applied another coat today, and the pieces got a bit darker and richer.

Here’s the first coat. I applied another coat today, and the pieces got a bit darker and richer. One more coat should do it. Even without another coat, they’ve never looked better.

Meanwhile, we can still sail. Yesterday afternoon Ruth and I got off the pier for a couple of hours. Here are a few images.

It was a crystal clear evening, 60 degrees and a 10 knot breeze. We tied up at dusk, ready to settle in for the evening.

 

3 comments
  1. Hi Rick –

    Nicely done! For this kind of work I like to use a Forstner bit because it makes a flat-bottomed hole, and pan head screws because they are flat on the bottom. A wedge-shaped screw going into a wedge-shaped hole is more likely to split thin wood.

    And I am oh so jealous of your delicious evening sail…

    bob

    • Ah. . . The mysteries/secrets of woodworking. I did not know about that. I’ll get a forstener bit and flatten out the hole bottoms. Thanks for sharing this before I tried to reinstall the pieces.

Leave a Reply

