Paint!

I’m finally to the place where paint can be applied. After going back and forth on what kind of paint, I settled on cheap one-part polyurethane from West Marine. I had a balance on a gift card, so it didn’t cost me too much. I was hoping to use an oil-based porch and deck paint, but these are not commonly available anymore. Oil-based paints are becoming scarcer and scarcer. A couple years ago I used an oil-based primer to coat the cockpit sole, and that would have worked, I think, but I was not confident about it’s longevity while constantly submersed, like the bottom of our dinghy will be from time to time. I used the half quart I had left over and painted the inside of the dink. I had just enough!

I know it says primer on the can.  I'm okay with that.  It covered the surface, encapsulated the sand, looks white and not shiny.  That's what I wanted.  It's not much trouble to repaint the surface every couple of years to keep it looking fresh.

Left over from painting the cockpit sole. The rest of this can covered all the interior of the Sea Minor.

From the West Marine website.  The can says Jet Black!  I used semi-gloss white.

Image from the West Marine website. Although this can says Jet Black, I used semi-gloss white.

The SeaGloss one-part polyurethane seems okay. It’s thin as water, so it runs and sags easily. When rolling it on, I really had to use very little paint to keep it from making a mess. I’m a little concerned about how long it takes to cure. After 10 hours, some of the thicker sags were still too soft to sand. It says recoating is possible after 8-24 hours, so obviously 8 hours isn’t long enough, and this was a perfect day to paint – low humidity, temps in low 70s, clear sky. It does level out very well, and the satin finish is going to look much better than a high gloss for this imperfect surface. Really though, a flat white would have been best. It took me about an hour to paint the outside, and another hour for the interior. Incidentally, the instructions say this is for above the water line. . .   We’ll see how it does.

We’ve got rain scheduled for the next several days, so it looks like final coating will have to wait at least until Friday or Saturday. Meanwhile, here are a few images of the dink with a new first coat.

It was such a relief to get that covered up.  I had to restrain myself from going too quickly.

It was such a relief to start painting, and getting a new finish on it, I had to restrain myself from going too quickly.

Partially covered.  It was relatively slow work ensuring that the surface was covered, but not with too much paint.

Partially covered. It was relatively slow work ensuring that the surface was covered, but not with too much paint.

Sorry about the shadows.

Sorry about the shadows.

DSC_4451

And here are a couple of photos of the interior.  The seats have been sealed with epoxy resin, and are awaiting sanding, then varnish.

And here are a couple of photos of the interior. The seats have been sealed with epoxy resin, and are awaiting sanding, then varnish.

You also get a better view of the outboard pad/transom reinforcement.

You also get a better view of the outboard pad/transom reinforcement.

4 comments
    • Thanks Bob! I’m feeling a comparative review on the horizon between Petitt Easy Poxy One-Part Polyurethane and SeaGloss. There are definite differences, as I found out today while painting the shearstripe on Sea Minor.

  1. Looking good Rick,
    Are you bringing her down to Deltaville next week, I was wondering if you tow her or get her on deck?

    • Yes, I’ll look likely tow her down, unless the weather is snotty and there is a lot of chop. In which case I’ll lash her down on the foredeck. She’ll also fill with water fairly quickly in a steady rain, which makes towing untenable as well.

Leave a Reply

