Launched and Ready

Shipwright Harbor launched Cay of Sea early last week, and I’ve spent a few days getting things squared away.  Among those items were cleaning, varnishing, cleaning, rigging, cleaning. . .  Well, after 4 months closed up and cold, things were/are bit untidy.  Yard time seems to make everything dirty, no matter what I do.

New Headsail

I visited Bacon Sails several days ago, and picked up a nice used headsail for $475.  On Cay of Sea this will occupy 117% of the foretriangle, which is slightly larger than we had before.  The extra sail area is welcome of course, but more than that a sail that is in good shape and will set well will help a lot.  It’s also worth noting that there is no compromise in the shape of the sail to accommodate roller furling.  I’m going to enjoy the extra bit of efficiency I get.  This sail also features a reefable foot.  I can take 3 feet out of the foot of the sail, which will drop the sail area down to below 100%.  I will also get another smaller sail eventually, and would have last week, but Bacon Sails didn’t have an appropriate sail in their inventory at that time.

I got lucky and also found a deck bag (in their huge bin of unwanted canvas items) that was the right color and right size.  $65, and it’s in pretty good shape.  I will get turn-buttons to close the back of the bag (it currently has UV-ruined Velcro) and sew a loop on the back as well, so that I can lift it off the deck with the halyard.

DSC_4339 DSC_4340

Figuring out halyards, new sheets, and a downhaul took a couple of hours.  Then the trial hoist of the sail – it fit perfectly, allowing for stretch of the luff – I was very pleased with the sail and stowage.

I’ve also begun the spring varnish routine, and will need to add several coats to this preliminary sanding/coating applied today.

DSC_4336 DSC_4337

DSC_4342 DSC_4343

DSC_4341

6 comments
  1. Johadel said:

    Ah, the joys of boat ownership!!

    We also gave up on the roller jib when ours wore out. What we went to was a 120% genoa and a 100% jib with reef points that took it down to about 80%. We needed the smaller jibs because J’Lesca was only 23′ with a masthead rig and an outboard on the transom. When the wind piped up, we HAD to sail, as the outboard spent at least half of its time out of the water. Two reef points in the main and one in the small jib let us handle about any wind we might find ourselves caught out in.

    I hope the maintenance work goes quickly so you can escape the slip and get out on the open water!

    • Yep – sail area management is important on Watkins 27s too. You’re the first person I’ve talk to who has ever used a reefable jib.

      • Johadel said:

        It was easier than hanking on a different sail when the bow is bouncing all over the place.

  2. Great brightwork as usual, Rick. Glad you could find the sail and the bag. I’ve bought several sails from them now, but I didn’t know they had spare bags. Now that I do I’ll try to swing by there to see if I can find one for my sails too. I figured I’d have to make one. Thanks for the info.

    • Greg, they have tons of regular sail bags. Not that many deck bags, though. I really had to dig through the pile to find this one. Thanks for the nice comment on the bright work. It’s one of the pleasures of sailboat ownership!

Leave a Reply

