Deck-Mounted Blocks – Interior Finish Complete

I fabricated ply-veneer hole covers for the fastener holes in the overhead yesterday.  A bit muddle-headed, I had to cut several of them twice, as I misunderstood my own measurements, and the resulting shapes didn’t cover the holes.  Undeterred by incompetence, I kept cutting wood until I had enough sawdust to mix with resin, press into a mold, and fashion the covers that way.

. . . Not really.

I just cut the pieces again until I had the shapes and dimensions correct.

My next display of incompetence was evident in the drilling of holes.  I couldn’t seem to think far enough ahead of the process to position the fastener holes (that hold the covers against the overhead) in places where there was material and not void (remember, I’m trying to cover big holes in the overhead).  Well, now I have a couple of extra screw holes in two of the cover panels, but they are very small and not noticeable unless you look too carefully.  Or are too critical.  Anyway, here are the photos:

Can you see the extra hole?

Can you see the extra hole?

In this one too. . .

In this one too. . .

This one turned out okay.

This one turned out okay.

So did this one.

So did this one.

Now that I’ve finished them bright, I wonder if they would be better painted white?  Less noticeable, I imagine.  Any opinions from readers out there?

Years ago, I owned a succession of Volkswagen Beetles and a 1970 Transporter.  As did many VW owners, I became adept at maintenance tasks like installing brakes, tuning up the engine, removing and replacing the engine(s), installing clutches, etc..  I also became proficient at adjusting valves, and it turns out that this skill is useful for maintaining marine diesel engines.  I had the valves checked and adjusted in about 30 minutes today.  The next task was messier, but not difficult – new fuel filters for primary and secondary circuit.  I’ve been amazed at how easy the Yanmar 2gm20f is to prime and bleed.  It just isn’t very sensitive to little fuel feed problems, which makes it very easy to get running again after the fuel system has been opened up.

Finally, I put everything away, closed up the boat, and scrubbed the decks with a deck brush and cloth.  I am always gratified at how well she cleans up.

Not spotless, but a reasonably thorough scrub with a brush gets her looking respectable again.

Not spotless, but a reasonably thorough scrub with a brush gets her looking respectable again.

 

4 comments
  1. Anonymous said:

    She’s looking really good, Rick!!

  2. Anonymous said:

    Excellent work. Mmmm. I’d leave them alone and see if they grow on you as far as as is vs white. White would camo against the white overhead, but you have the interior brightwork too so it’s not the only visual contrast. Anyone asks and you tell ’em it’s where you stash your gold doubloons. Your cabin looks like what I’d pay big money to stay in on a cruise ship.
    The boat cleans up well? It should make the marina want to pressure wash their dock and replace boards to keep up with the Bailey’s. Can’t wait to see her “in person” at the raft up. Greg W.

    • Thanks for the perspective, Greg. I do have bright-finished covers on the forehatch/hinge bolt holes too, so maybe it’s okay for the others as well.

      End of next week is the raft up, and we’re looking forward to seeing everyone again – hoping for moderate weather to get there too. We’ve had wind on the nose for two successive years, and would love a change in that regard.

Leave a Reply

