Project Finished, Project Started

I wrapped up a small but important project today when I replaced the plastic drinking water supply line to the galley sink.  This line runs from the port quarter berth locker over to the galley on the starboard side, and up to the Whale manual pump I rebuilt last week.  I ran the line and connected it to the pump, then secured the pump back into the countertop.  I’ve provided a photo of old and new lines together:

Can't believe we were drawing drinking water through that old line (on right) last year.  But at least we filtered all the water.

Can’t believe we were drawing drinking water through that old line (on right) last year. But at least we filtered all the water.

The old line had collected a lot of hard-water scale inside, which I couldn’t effectively dissolve with vinegar.  It was much better to just replace it – especially at $0.39 per foot at the hardware store. West Marine would have charged me $1. per foot for the same product.

Next, I received an order from Garhauer Marine for line handling hardware.  All of my turning blocks are garbage after 33 years of salt and sun.  I need to go aloft soon to replace the headstay, but I won’t go up there anymore with all the old hardware ready to fall apart with my 200 lbs hanging from a halyard that runs through it.  This replacement will make for a much safer trip up the mast.

Foot blocks, halyard blocks, turning blocks, and a new cam cleat (used to build an ascender board - I'll explain in another post).

Cheek blocks, halyard blocks, halyard lift blocks, and a new cam cleat (used to build an ascender board – I’ll explain in another post).

This is good stuff.  Heavier duty than what I’m replacing, all 316 stainless bodies, sheaves properly sized, working load well into the safe limit by a factor of 2 for hauling me up the mast.  And the prices aren’t bad for this hardware – see below:

Garhauer is well known for a quality product at reasonable prices.

Garhauer is well known for a quality product at reasonable prices.

 

Leave a Reply

