Chesapeake Freeze-up

My in-laws are out-of-town (they live a mile away from us on the bay) and we’re caring for their dog every day.  This morning we walked over to the bay side (we live on the creek side) and took Savannah (the dog) out for her walk.  I captured a few images of the bay this morning, because I’ve never seen this much ice out there.  I’ve heard stories of the “old days” when the bay would freeze right across, and now that we’ve experienced this cold snap I realize how cold for how long that would take.  Maybe the world is getting warmer.  Regardless, here are the photos – several taken from the vantage point of upstairs at my in-laws.  Oh – it was 5 degrees F this morning at 0730. . .

From upstairs at the in-laws.

From upstairs at the in-laws.

When you see a marker in subsequent photos, it will be this one.  This is several hundred yards from shore.

When you see a marker in subsequent photos, it will be this one. This is several hundred yards from shore.

Right near shore.

Right near shore.

DSC02389DSC02394DSC02396

It looks way too cold out there to be a bird today.

It looks way too cold out there to be a bird today.

These photos were taken with my wife’s point-&-shoot Sony HX7V.  I’ve done quite a bit of post-processing on these, as I was shooting into the sun most of the time.  Even so, I continue to be impressed with the quality of this little camera.  I love my Nikon DSLR too, but this gets phenomenal photos and it fits in your pocket!

 

 

 

5 comments
  1. Anonymous said:

    Reminds me of my younger days on Mount Hope Bay up in Massachusetts. Of course because it was salt water ice, we stayed off of it, or only went our a short distance. Use to have more fun throwing chunks of ice or flat stone along the ice and watching the gulls swoop down to see if it was fish.

    • My experience with frozen lakes or bays (salt or fresh) is limited because I’m a Florida boy. I know saltwater freezes at a lower temperature, but does that also make it more risky for walking/playing on – even if the weather is extremely cold for a long time? Just curious.

  2. ShimonZ said:

    very impressive pictures. there’s such a difference between the pain of the cold, and the images…

    • Thanks Shimon. I agree, the cold is so very uncomfortable, but the winter scenes are lovely.

Leave a Reply

