Hydrocoat Antifouling Paint – Second Year Review

You can read my First Year and Mid-Second Season report on Hydrocoat here.

Cay of Sea was hauled for the winter 2 days ago.  The boat yard manager gave me a call while she was in the slings, so I ran over there with my camera for a couple of quick photos of the bottom paint – I’d hoped to get there before they power-washed the hull, but I can’t seem to communicate that to the yard manager – he called me just after it was washed.  Oh well, I got a verbal report from the power-wash guy.  He said I had one barnacle, and a pretty thick coating of slime.

One barnacle!  End of second year, and I’ve got only one.  Hydrocoat doesn’t seem to repel the slime at all – not sure any paint is very effective on slime, except the very slick, polished stuff, but I’m more than happy about it keeping the hard growth at bay.

There were a few more chips in the paint this year – I scrub-brushed it twice this year, so it’s possible that I’m wearing off the paint, or slightly damaging it when I scrub.  Here are some photos of the bottom:

DSC_2975

DSC_2976

DSC_2980

For some reason, the most evident wear was at the rudder.  There were several  chips, and noticeable thin places.

For some reason, the most evident wear was at the rudder. There were several chips, and noticeable thin places.

 

Rudder will definitely be recoated this spring, as will the water line and any other chips.

Rudder will definitely be recoated this spring, as will the water line and any other chips.

So, I think I’ll try for one more year without recoating the entire hull.  Touching up the chips, and recoating the rudder may hold me through the next year.  If the paint fails sometime mid-season, next year, I can’t complain.  I’m happy with two seasons, and it looks like I can squeak three out of it.  Pretty impressive, in my book.

6 comments
  1. Thanks for doing this test and reporting on it, Rick. All of us watching appreciate it!

    Bob

  2. Thanks for reporting on your experience with Hydrocoat. Now that I have seen how well this works for you I think we will use it on our W33
    Alan W.

  3. Bob and Alan – thanks for the kind words. Who knows if Hydrocoat will be as effective in different waters? Seems to work well here in the Chesapeake.

  4. Bob Edwards said:

    Rick,
    I am a Watkins list member and have watched your posts. I haven’t seen all your articles on Hydrocoat, but I will try to contribute to the knowledge bank, as follows. I now have a Dockrell 27 (British) and an Oday 34. The Dockrell is painted with the Hydrocoat (now in 4th season) repainted once in that time, touched up annually. The Oday is painted with a high-grade standard ablative by Petit. I like the Hydrocoat better, for ease of application and much easier preparation. The Hydrocoat cleans up much better that the other when power washed and requires no real sanding, so far (it seems more soluable, which could be considered a disadvantage, but a fair trade-off to me). Interestingly, the Dockrell is now in Fla (Daytona area) for two seasons –Dec through April, — and the paint is holding up as well there as it did in NJ.
    Robert Edwards (Watkins: Bob from NJ

    • Great information, Bob, and thanks for contributing. It’s nice to hear about Hydrocoat performance in a different locale. I’m pretty impressed, and even more so now that I’ve read your comments about it. Thanks for adding your experience.

Leave a Reply

