Fog On Rockhold Creek

It was thick this morning.  Unlike my last post, there is nothing very majestic about this, but it’s pretty amazing that it’s this thick.  We get this 7-8 times a year, typically spring and fall.

Cay of Sea is just right of center, 50 meters from my back door.

Cay of Sea is just right of center, 50 meters from my back door.

There were charters and pleasure boats going out in this.  Not my cup of soup!

There were charters and pleasure boats going out in this. Not my cup of soup!

By noon, the fog had cleared away and we had a nice afternoon of 60+ degrees.  We sailed for about an 1.5 hours, returning just at dusk.  Wonderful sailing, in fact – most of the time we were traveling 5.5 knots.  This will be one of our last sails for the year.  We may get out once or twice more before we haul out in early December.

 

6 comments
  1. ShimonZ said:

    A thick fog like that is impressive… and I suppose a little dangerous too.

    • It is dangerous. I don’t move the boat when it’s this thick. Not even radar will prevent other reckless boaters from running into us. In this modern era of GPS, there is no problem with knowing where we are or knowing where we are going, so if we are caught out in it, we can find our way home – however, hearing the other boaters (but not seeing them) it scary.

    • I’m glad you like the photos. I posted them simply to demonstrate the soup – but I’m not really a fog-photo-fan (sorry about the alliteration – I couldn’t resist). I miss the contrast and depth of field that seem to be missing from landscapes with fog. Maybe black & white would render them better.

      • It’s precisely that lack of contrast and depth of field that renders them so mysterious, however. You can’t judge where things really are, even if you can see a faint outline – just like sound is misleading, in a thick fog. I suppose you could try “erasing” the colour, if you took the pictures with a digital camera, just to observe the effect.

Leave a Reply

