All-Weather Sailing

Sometimes you just gotta sail in the rain.

It had been nearly a week since the rain started falling.  I didn’t care.  I was jonesin’ to go out for a while.  I asked my wife if she was interested. . .  No – not really.  Smart girl.  I went by myself.

Rain across the bay.

Rain across the bay.

It wasn’t raining when I left the slip, nor when I raised sail.  We jogged along for about 20 minutes, and I could see it coming across Herring Bay.  It didn’t rain hard.  Just a misty drizzle, but in 5 minutes everything was wet.  Oh well.

Here it comes. . .  sorry for the grainy camera phone photos.

Here it comes. . . sorry for the grainy camera phone photos.

Another 20 minutes and I came about in the gentle breeze.  A better point of sail now, our speed increased by another knot.  Sometimes more.  The return trip proved shorter, of course, which was okay – I was pretty wet by then, and my desire to sail had been pretty well satisfied.  I was now experiencing a desire to be dry.

I wasn't alone out there, but there were not other pleasure boats or yachts - only folks who were working.

I wasn’t alone out there, but there were no other pleasure boats or yachts – only folks who were working.

Thoroughly damp, with water streaming off the side decks, we motored back through the jetty, past the restaurants and marinas to our own slip.  I backed into our slip on the second pass and tied up. Gathered up an arm-load of wet stuff to dry in the house and stepped onto the pier.  Yeah. . .  nice afternoon.  That was fun!

Leave a Reply

