Port Townsend Wake-Up

Port Townsend Bay (WA) as seen from our hotel balcony on a foggy morning.

Port Townsend Bay (WA) as seen from our hotel balcony on a foggy morning.

We lived in the Pacific Northwest for three years – I was stationed there during my navy career.  The region had a profound effect on us:  One of my kids graduated from high school and went to college in Bellingham Wa.  Another kid has gravitated back to the area repeatedly, as he loves the climate, scenery, and culture.  He also loves his fiancée’, which is why we woke up in Port Townsend this morning.  They were recently married, and we are here to attend.

Ruth and I love it here too.  “Life” has arranged for us to live in coastal Maryland, and we love that too. But PNW is special.  I love the combination of mountains and water views, cool temperatures, abundant sea life, and spectacular views everywhere.  We are enjoying our vacation-return to the Northwest.  Enjoy a few photos of boats and water below and for the next couple of days as I capture a few images.

Calm wind and water provides opportunity for this rowing crew to train.

Calm wind and water provides opportunity for this rowing crew to train.

Typically big tides in this area expose mud at low water.  Also typical are steep drop-offs that let you anchor fairly near shore.

Typically big tides in this area expose mud at low water. Also.  Steep drop-offs are not uncommon.  The also let you anchor fairly near shore.

Taken at dawn in the fog, this image required quite a bit of manipulation to be publishable.

Taken at dawn in the fog.  I like the nearly monochromatic look with the boat floating on its own misty reflection.

 

 

 

 

8 comments
  1. Greg W. said:

    Great pics, Rick. Thanks for sharing. Really appreciate your project log and accurate sailing decriptions too. Helps me out in my groping about. G.W.

    • Thanks Greg, and thanks for the visits to my blog. Glad some of my experience is helpful to you.

  2. David G. said:

    Some day maybe I can get up there. Wanted to go to the PNW instead of coming back to hot old Texas.

    • David, as we spend time here again it makes me long to come back to live. There are down-sides of course – the PNW climate I love, with its cool-but-moderate temps also comes with persistent dampness and overcast skies. It can get to you. When we left this area at the end of 3 years, I was longing for some time to just bake in the sun. We moved to Memphis that summer, and I got what I wished for in spades – Didn’t take me long to get tired of the sweaty south again.

  3. Beautiful pix, Rick, and welcome back!

    Bob

  4. ShimonZ said:

    congratulations… good to hear good news

Leave a Reply

