It’s That Time of Year

Time to refresh varnish, that is.  I noticed the top couple of layers looking “pealey” in some places on the hatch slider, so I sanded and scraped.  I only removed all the varnish in a few spots, so I’ll have to build up these areas again patch-work fashion.  Just not up to stripping the entire surface yet.  Here are a couple of pics:

I installed this teak decking in place of saturated core.  It's fun to keep a couple of places on the boat bright-finished.

I installed this teak decking in place of saturated core. It’s fun to keep a couple of places on the boat bright-finished.

One layer down, 3-4 to go.

One layer down, 3-4 to go.

I’ll also refresh the swash-boards, anchor platform, and re-Cetol the “eye brows” and hand-holds (on deck) over the next several months, as weather and opportunity allow.

4 comments
  1. Jim Brewer said:

    Rick, your varnish looks great.

  2. Anonymous said:

    That core replacement looks superb. You motivated me to refinish my brightwork. Have most of it done even with the torrential rains. Then to move into the cabin and emulate your work. Thanks.
    Greg W.

    • Thanks Greg. It was a fun and scary project. I installed this decking in warm weather and used the fast-acting catalyst with the epoxy. As a result, in the full sun and heat, it cured much faster than I expected. I was still positioning the decking as the resin began to cure, so there are some small errors. I guess we always learn from our mistakes on this kind of project, and were I to do it again, I would know how to manage better and get a better result. As it stands though, I’m not unhappy with it. Besides, none of my work is ever perfect.

      Glad you are having success with your brightwork. I find making a few bits of wood shiny to be very satisfying. I love the connection with traditional yacht maintenance and varnish.

Leave a Reply

