Operations Locker Part V – Applying Finish

Construction concluded with addition of cabinet door fastener and opening an inlet at the bottom for wires.  Next phase is finish application.

Door catch hardware installed.  Only took two tries to get it in the right place.

Door catch hardware installed. Only took two tries to get it in the right place.

Wiring access opening is behind the wire chase at the bottom.

Wiring access opening is behind the wire chase at the bottom.

Looking at the photo above makes me realize that I have to shorten the wire chase from the bottom so that I can allow wires to go to the radios.

I’ll spare you photos of the sealer coat of varnish, and just show you the first regular varnish coat, with white primer on the shelves.  I’ll paint the entire interior white as well, but not until the varnishing is complete.

 

 

I finished the mounting bracket for the multimeter.  This will mount to the inside of the bridge deck with screws.  The meter will be secured into the bracket with hook-and-loop tapes.

 

 

 

3 comments
  1. Rick, The locker looks really great and now I you have given me yet another idea for storage inside my W27. Thank you for the wonderful information. -Bruce

    • Thanks for the kind words, Bruce. I think our most useful storage locker is the one above our galley. I didn’t design it, but I did copy the original one that came with the boat. It was made of laminate-covered particle board (who would use that stuff on a boat?) and the laminate was coming off – it looked terrible. I copied it in birch plywood, salvaged some teak trim for the sliding doors (off of another locker I rebuilt, but broke the trim in several places). The sliding plastic doors were original, and match the p & s locker sliders. This locker hold ceramic coffee cups, salt and pepper, sugar, matches – all kinds of small stuff you would want near your galley. We’d be lost without it. Here’s a link to the photo in the Cay of Sea page: https://middlebaysailing.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/dsc01149.jpg

Leave a Reply

