Nautical Art

Sea Stories is the title of an artbook of nautical watercolor paintings and pencil sketches that my wife is putting together.  It is a collection of yachting images that she’s painted or drawn, bound in a sailcloth cover and binding.  I thought I would let you preview some of the images that will be included.  I’ll link the blog article that accompanies each painting below the image.

Bury the Rail!, watercolor, 4.5″ x 6.75″

Bury the Rail!, watercolor, 4.5″ x 6.75″

Bury The Rail!

Ghosting Along, watercolor, 4.5″ x 6.75″

Ghosting Along, watercolor, 4.5″ x 6.75″

Ghosting Along

Plow Anchor, charcoal pencil, 3,5″ x 6.5″

Plow Anchor, charcoal pencil, 3,5″ x 6.5″

Plow Anchor

We’re excited about this project as we watch it take shape.  I personally love each image that she’s included, but the images altogether – 10-12 of them – have an effect on me that is synergistic.  It’s just an attractive collection of yachting images.  Hope this whets your appetite to see more.

 

7 comments
    • Thanks Bob – I’ll pass that on to Ruth. I think I’ll try to post a video (never tried to do that before now) when the book is complete. Still photos of a bound book don’t give you the real sense of how it looks.

  1. Jan Sopoci said:

    Lovely work!!!!

    • Thanks Jan – I’ll let Ruth know you enjoyed the images.

  2. Anonymous said:

    Ruth is amazing. Can’t wait to see more.

  3. I love “Bury the rail”. I sail an Alberg 35 where it’s normal to sail with the rail just out an inch out of the water, sometimes burying. Please post when the book is available for purchase. Can’t wait to see more.

Leave a Reply

