Shaft Log Hose – Which Type Do You Have?

I started doing the research on this and discovered that my assumption was completely wrong.  Late last fall I blogged about several projects that would be prudent to accomplish while the engine was off the beds.  I detailed the fact that my hose was the exhaust-type wire-reenforced hose that we connect to our exhaust elbows and water-lift mufflers.  Therefore, it was prudent to change this hose periodically, as with age the hose will distort, the wire will rust, and eventually a leak will develop.

My hose has not leaked.  Yet.  But it was just a matter of time.  Look at the end of the hose in this photo:

See the rust?  Any bets on how much of the length of hose the wire is rusted?

See the rust? Any bets on how much of the length of hose the wire is rusted?

See how this hose twisted from the shaft torque?  The Buck Algonquin hose isn't supposed to do this.

See how this hose twisted from the shaft torque? The Buck Algonquin hose isn’t supposed to do this.

So I did a search on this hose application, and was led to a website I knew about, but didn’t realized the author addressed this problem.  http://www.pbase.com/mainecruising/boat_projects.  He gives extensive photos and discussion of this type hose used in this application, and identifies the correct type of hose.  Check out this link:  http://www.pbase.com/mainecruising/stuffing_box.

Mainsail specifies a stuffing box hose made especially for this application by Buck Algonquin.  It’s a 5-ply hose that has no wire reenforcement, and therefore can’t rust or be perforated by a rusting core. Cost?  My hose is 1.75″ inside diameter and is $18.08 per foot from Jamestown Distributors.  it costs a little more, but I only need one foot of it.

*** Correction***  I received this piece of hose yesterday (3/26) from JD, and it’s actually about 5 inches long. So that’s $18.08 for a 5 inch length of 1.75″ (ID) 5-ply hose.  Lucky for me, that’s all I need.  The old piece was about 6″ long, and I was contemplating making the new piece shorter – now there is no decision to make!

So go look at your stuffing box hose, and next time you replace it get the Buck Algonquin and keep the ocean out of your boat.

6 comments
  1. Anonymous said:

    Good information and I will do so when I finally get up to the boat. Planned on going up the last week of March or first week of April, weather permitting, but now have a doctors appointment for April 5th, and new wedding task whch will run into the last week of March, not to mention the wife reminded be that it was Easter. I almost ansered her with a “So?”. Good thing God intervened and made me hesitate and rethink my response. So I am still standing upright and with all of my remaining teeth.

  2. Eolian said:

    Thanks Rick – this is VERY useful. I only hope that I can remember it when I need it (that’s getting to be more and more of a problem…)

    bob
    s/v Eolian
    Seattle

    • You’re welcome. I’m glad I rediscovered this bit of information too. I’ve read Mainsail’s entire essay on this subject before now, and didn’t remember his discussion of the Buck Algonquin hose. I was only reminded of it recently when I was re-researching it.

  3. I must admit that I do not know what my W33 has for this hose. I have a lot to learn about a diesel inboard since my last engine was an OMC Saildrive 15 HP which went directly through the hull without a shaft to a prop.
    Thanks for encouraging us to come to the raft up. I really doubt we can make it for a few years due to the incredible back log of household projects along with the failing health of relatives. We lost my brother-in-law in California recently and my Mothers health has gotten worse so that takes time also.
    Thanks for sharing all the knowledge you are gaining. I wrote about PVC exhaust vs actual water lift mufflers on the Watkins group for I had experiences with that issue with our previous boat, a 28 which was not as well built as a Watkins. Not even close!

    • So sorry to hear of your family loss. The OMC Saildrive has always intrigued me. It’s basically an outboard motor mounted through the the hull, right? Seems like it could be tricky installation – getting the humongous hole in the hull shaped just right, then the seals seated – I always liked the idea, but thought it might be difficult to install.

Leave a Reply

