Too Cold To Be A Duck

There are actually three ducks pictured here - one is below that circle of water between the two ducks on the surface.  I guess they don't feel the cold!

There are actually three ducks pictured here – one is below that circle of water between the two ducks on the surface. I guess they don’t feel the cold!

The water where these ducks are swimming was frozen early this morning.  This is late February, and though the weather is sunny today, we had a hard freeze last night, and no signs of an early spring. That means that boat work has to wait out the freezing weather.  Yes, I’m a wimp – but I’ve earned the right to be one!  There is plenty of time left for crawling about in the engine compartment and bilge before launch.

 

3 comments
  1. If you can crawl about in the engine compartment or the bilge you are a lot smaller than I. I do have a friend here that can actually get into the W33’s stern lockers. He’s also a diesel mechanic and really was able to get in around the engine and found my diesel fuel leak. All new hoses and filters have been prescribed by the diesel doctor. I also am going to completely clean the tank which is not leaking. That was something we were able to do last year inside the building Prairie Schooner resides. Not quite so cold and no wind. Sorry to hear you had that hard freeze! My vision of the Chesapeake Bay is one of open water year round and not too cold. It appears that is wrong.
    What is your draft on Cay of Sea.???

  2. I can get down into the engine room and bilge, but it ain’t easy. It also occasions a fair amount of back pain in the aftermath. I have to keep up with my back exercises to keep the pain at bay.

    It’s not comfortable nor easy to get down there – it’s another thing altogether to accomplish any work while down there. It’s just a struggle from start to finish, but it’s not impossible, and I won’t pay anyone else to do it.

    The bay itself hasn’t frozen in a long time, but where I am on Rockhold Creek – one mile up the creek – freezes with regularity. Nothing like ND or MN, but extended cold weather in the teens and 20s will see it freeze, and that’s not uncommon here.

    My draft – by the book – is 3’8″. Probably a couple inches deeper than that fully loaded, though.

    • Thanks Rick! If you can believe it there is a marina in St. Paul(I am in the twin cites,mn) where people live aboard their boats year round! Most are house boats but some are larger power boats and sail. They use various methods on a boat to keep the water unfrozen directly around their boat. Personally I think they are crazy.

Leave a Reply

