Cold Days, Hard Water

Temps haven’t ventured above 25 degrees for three days now, and Rockhold Creek has frozen from shore to shore.

I don't think the ice is very thick in the middle of the creek, but it's freezing harder and deeper near shore.

I don’t think the ice is very thick in the middle of the creek, but it’s freezing harder and deeper near shore.

Last year I was entertained by the seagulls’ social gathering on the ice, though if I were them I would have been doing a good bit of shivering.  Maybe their conserve heat standing together so closely. Standing on the ice has never been near the top of my to-do list – makes my feet cold just thinking about it.  Gulls must have anti-freeze in their feet.

Sea gulls on hard water

Seagulls on hard water

Hope you’re staying warm!

 

Leave a Reply

