Favorite Photos from 1 Year of Blogging

Here are a few of my favorite photos from this year of sailing and living near the water.

Views of Rockhold Creek:

View from my sunroom - Gulls on hard water.  January.

View from my sunroom – Gulls on hard water. January.

Sunset across the creek - the view out my back door.

Sunset across the creek – the view out my back door.  January.

Sunrise in February.  The water is a bird-mirror.

Sunrise in February. The water is a bird-mirror.

View from my sunroom at dawn.  February

View from my sunroom at dawn. February.

Swan fleet.  February.

Swan fleet. February.

Foggy, drippy morning on Rockhold Creek.  March

Foggy, drippy morning on Rockhold Creek. March.

Tied up in the evening after-glow.  September.

Tied up in the evening after-glow. September.

 

My wife took this photo - it reminds me that we are not in  control of the water.  It answers to a Higher Authority than mankind.

My wife took this photo – it reminds me that we are not in control of the water. It answers to a Higher Authority than mankind.  December.

 

Miscellaneous Photos I like:

I love this photo:  Two Harleys and a pink girl-scooter.  Distantly sailing-related, as I saw this in the parking lot of a marina.

I love this photo: Two Harleys and a pink girl-scooter in the same frame.  “One of these things is not like the other.” Distantly sailing-related, as I saw this in the parking lot of a marina.

I didn't take this photo, of course - my wife did.  But I like my location, emerging from the cockpit locker after checking batteries.

I didn’t take this photo, of course – my wife did. But I like my location, emerging from the cockpit locker after checking batteries.

On the Water:

Squadron of Pelicans.  Not much contrast in this photo, but I love watching these guys fly.

Squadron of Pelicans. Not much contrast in this photo, but I love watching these guys fly.

Our friend Paul checking sail trim.  We sailed on his boat at the Watkins Rendezvous.

Our friend Paul checking sail trim. We sailed on his boat at the Watkins Rendezvous.

No painter can capture that.  No photo does it justice.  You just have to be there and see it in person to really "get" it.

No painter can capture that. No photo does it justice. You just have to be there and see it in person to really “get” it.

Gratuitous boat imagery.  I'm a softy when it comes to beautiful boats, and this one is definitely a good looker.  Note the clear sky.  This was a 72-degree winds-10 mph day.

Just a beautiful boat on a beautiful day.  I’m a softy when it comes to beautiful boats, and this one is definitely a good looker. Note the clear sky. This was a 72-degree winds-10 mph day.

My wife's dad (right) and his brother.  I loved being with these two brothers of more than 70 years, completely comfortable with each other, reminiscing about sailing, telling sea stories, talking about growing up together, about their children, careers, and lives in general.  This was a great day of sailing, and a great day with family.

My wife’s dad (right) and his brother. I loved being with these two brothers of more than 70 years, completely comfortable with each other, reminiscing about sailing, telling sea stories, talking about growing up together, about their children, careers, and lives in general. This was a great day of sailing, and a great day with family.

 

From my last sail of the year.  I love the light in this photo.  December

From my last sail of the year. I love the light in this photo.

 

 

 

 

6 comments
  1. Jan Sopoci said:

    Great selection!!! Merry Christmas to both of you!

  2. Michael Egnatz said:

    I am in St. Michaels MD and am interested In learning about the Watkins 27.
    My cell is : 219.405.2028.
    Thanks for your help,
    Michael Egnatz

    • Michael,

      I’m currently out of town, but would love to talk to you after I return tomorrow. Meanwhile, you can read my assessment of my boat on the page “Cay of Sea – Watkins 27” which link appears at the top of the home page.

      Thanks for your visit, and I look forward to speaking with you.

      Rick

Leave a Reply

