Winter Projects 2013 – Part II

Another dirty little secret about Cay of Sea: the engine mount on her PORT side has a problem too. Hopefully, it’s not a very difficult fix.

Again, the aft mount is involved, and at first, I thought this was also a problem with the installation of the new engine.  After a closer look at the photo below, I’ve decided that this was “just one of those things.”  They happen, and there doesn’t seem to be any assignable culpability.  Let me illustrate the problem with a photo:

Note the red rectangle. There should be bolts in those holes outlined by the rectangle.

I noticed this issue by looking at the front of the engine while it was idling.  There was too much vibration near the port aft engine mount.  The more I looked, the more I was convinced that something was amiss.  When I climbed into the engine compartment to look, I discovered the bolts were missing. In fact, I think I have found them underneath the engine in the past, but didn’t realize they were from the engine mount.  I thought they were extra bolts I had dropped from a previous project.  I will scour my “miscellaneous bolts box” and see if I can identify them.  As I said, this looks to be a pretty easy fix.  I just need the right length, size and thread.  And I think I’ll install them with Locktite.

This is a pretty good reason to just take a look around the engine compartment from time to time. Navy vessels underway are all about programmed, planned maintenance.  It’s important because it prevents unexpected breakdowns.  That’s what we yacht owners need to do too if we want to avoid “emergencies.”  We don’t like emergencies on Cay of Sea.  Glad I discovered the missing bolts. . .

On the happy side, it appears that I can easily remove the engine mount from the other side for engine bed excavations by means of these same mounting bolts.  It will make removing the mount from the bed much easier.  If I have to buy new bolts, having an example on hand to take to the hardware store will be very helpful as well.

2 comments
  1. “Looks to be a pretty easy fix…” Is anybody taking bets on how much time will be needed for the actual repair?

  2. Rick Bailey said:

    Estimate time and cost required, then multiply by three. SOP.

Leave a Reply

