You Don’t See That Every Day

Another day sail stolen from late autumn yielded an interesting spectacle.

Something perversely inappropriate about the name of this boat, considering its location

M/V Go Deep . . . didn’t.  This is just to the left of the jetty cut-through entering Rockhold Creek.  How fast was he going to get that far up on the rocks?

Ouch

The entrance through the jetty is off to the right, just beyond the edge of the photo.  There is a red flashing marker on the right side of the channel, as you would expect, and a green flashing marker 300 yards out into the bay.  If you line up the markers – even in the dark, this entrance would be considered well-marked – you are going to make the channel.  I don’t know what time of day this boater hit the rocks, but I’m having a hard time thinking it was in daylight.  I’m also having a hard time thinking the skipper was sober.  Look – his home port is Deale, MD.  That means these are his home waters.  I can’t think of an explanation that doesn’t involve alcohol and boating after dark.  This is an unlikely time for an accident of this sort – likely took place on a Thursday evening?  In late autumn?  Oh well.  It made our day sail interesting, especially as we got to see the salvage crew float him off and deliver Go Deep to the marina across the creek from us for haul out.

Making progress

Afloat again, just off our marina’s piers

USCG attending

Coast Guard crew standing by to assist as needed.

5 comments
  1. If I clicked “*Like” on this post, what would that convey? That I liked seeing a boat on the rocks? That I liked the pictures? That I liked sailing with you? That I’m glad they got GoDeep safely off the rocks? That I like the Coast Guard? or that I liked what you had written?

    • I think the obvious interpretation to a “like” click would be that you like disaster.

      So – for any potential “likers” out there, beware that you might be endorsing a serious accident!

  2. Jan Sopoci said:

    I’m sort of reminded why it is that I’ve always preferred sail, over power, LOL. The thought of mastering something that is a bit tougher than “average” has more than a bit of appeal. I’m sure that there are folks out there that think “driving” a power boat’s even easier than driving a car, because while a car has 3 controls (gas, brakes, and steering wheel), a power boat’s only got 2!!

    Glad that everybody was OK, though….

  3. Jan,

    Unfortunately, power boaters often drive their boats like they’re on the highway. Many of these folks seem to have little regard for anyone smaller than them, and drive as if they are the only vessel on the water. I am always amazed when a power boater passes us at cruising speed within a couple of boat-lengths. I look around, and we’re all alone in the middle of 20 square miles of water, but the skipper has decided that his heading should take him within 50 -100 feet of us. I don’t get it. It’s not like there are lines painted on the water that he has to follow.

    As far as injury on Go Deep, I don’t know if anyone was hurt. I hope not.

Leave a Reply

