Dinghy Tour

There are more than a thousand boats on Rockhold Creek.  One of the best ways to see them is from my dinghy.  It’s great exercise ( I have only oars or sail), and the pace is slow enough to really admire the boats.  I can row a couple of miles in an hour easily, and not even realize where the time went. Seems like the perfect exercise.

But I get to visit my favorite boats too.  Here are some photos of boats I like.

Bristol Channel Cutter “Sadie”

The Bristol Channel Cutter might be the most beautiful boat ever built, and this one is an exceptional example.  I wish I had several more angles for you, and several shots of her underway.  If you own this boat, though, you’d better keep your varnish brush limber.  The amount of varnished teak on the BBC is measured in acreage.

Freya – Gaff-rigged sloop with top sail

I don’t know who the manufacturer of Freya is, but she is obviously in the northern European life boat tradition, as the hull shares obvious similarities with Westsail and other double-enders.  I’ve never seen her out of the water, but I guarantee there’s a full keel below the waterline.  She has abundant varnished hardwood details, and her spars appear to be solid round sections with several scarfs to make up requisite length.  Her paint’s a bit faded, but she’s well cared for – curiously though, I can’t remember seeing her out on the water more than once or twice.

A photo of the upper mast.

She appears to be traditionally rigged with standing rigging tensioned with dead eyes and line spliced over thimbles.  All her running rigging is three-strand twist except for the dead eyes.  I can’t determine the composition of her hull – It’s not wood, and not steel, but whether fiberglass or ferro-cement, I can’t really tell.  She is a beauty though, and when she’s under sail you just can’t stop looking at her.

2 comments
  1. Jan Sopoci said:

    Re the Bristol Channel Cutter; I was always partial to the Cape Dory, but like the Bristol, the amount of wood suggests a new full time “career” comes as a part of the package, LOL.

    • You’re right. Maintaining it like it requires is a lot of work. I suppose, though, after you get the initial build up done, you get on a schedule of varnishing and it’s not too bad.

Leave a Reply

