Sail Home Saturday from Dun Cove

Saturday morning dawned cloudy and in the low 60s.  Everything on deck was wet with rain water and dew, but drying quickly.  The northerly wind held through the night, though gentle now compared to the previous night’s gusts.

Coffee was the order of business.  We drink espresso – well, Americano actually.  We make espresso and dilute it to strong American-strength.  Can’t beat the flavor.  Then we start our long morning of coffee drinking, reading, and talking.  For me, this is the best time.  I get to sit in the cockpit reading, drinking coffee, enjoying the view.

The best time of the day – I didn’t manage to photograph Ruth with coffee in hand, but that’s our usual posture this time of day at anchor.

This is the boat who pulled in after dark the night before – named for a famous predecessor.  Note the swallows in his rigging.

Swallows in our own rigging. They thought this was a good place to gather for a few minutes.

While Ruth got into her paints, I went for a sail in our dinghy.  There was a creek in the back of Dun Cove I wanted to look at.

Our dinghy isn’t the best sailer on the water, but she’s an 8-foot pram with sail area not much bigger than a handkerchief. Still, she will sail to weather if you are patient, and she goes off the wind well.

She does row well. Cay of Sea over my right shoulder.  I had to take Ruth to see the catboat after I’d discovered it on my dinghy sailing expedition.

While up the creek I discovered a beautiful wooden catboat that we had seen in the cove on another occasion.  I could talk about what I like about it, but I think I’ll let the photos speak for themselves.

Looks like her sail cover blew off in the storm last night

We had lunch and read some more, then got underway about 1515 to go home.  It was a perfect day of sailing.

Looking into Dun Cove. This is actually a photo from the day before. When we left on Saturday, the sky was crystal clear.

Back through the Narrows and out the other side, I expected stronger winds on the bay-side, but my forecast was wrong.  We sailed between 3 and 5 knots across the bay, arriving at our marina about 1830.

Gratuitous boat imagery. I’m a softy when it comes to beautiful boats, and this one is definitely a good looker. Note the clear sky. This was a 72-degree winds-10 mph day.

2 comments
  1. Bob said:

    I remember those swallows on the Bay… but as the guy who had to clean the boat off before the family could board, mostly I remember their exhaust.

    And I remember exploring up the many creeks and rivers – its one of the delights!

    bob
    s/v Eolian
    Seattle

    • The swallows seem pretty transitory. It’s the seagulls that make the biggest mess. Sometimes we get an osprey perching on spreaders or masthead and dropping bits of fish carcass and “exhaust.” That’s a pretty big mess too.

      The creeks and coves and rivers are fun. Now there are also massive mansions on many of the waterfronts on the eastern side along the creeks and rivers. The Washington elite escape homes – apparently Cheney and Rumsfeld both own homes near St. Michaels.

Leave a Reply

