4 July Daysail

We had a storm last night that blew some cooler air into the area, so we got out on the bay for an hour and a half late this morning without suffering heat stroke.  There was already a fair amount of boat traffic – not our favorite time to be on the bay – but the conditions were nice and we sailed pleasantly until I sailed out from under the shore breeze in Herring Bay.

Beautiful blue sky. Moderate winds – 5-10 mph from the west.

In fact the sailing was so calm, it put some people to sleep.

Rew catches a late-morning nap.

I recognized some of the boat traffic.  This boat pictured below is Beau Vent – an Islander Freeport 36. This Bob Perry design is probably one of my favorites.  Although we are very happy with our Watkins 27, I would be sorely tempted if a good deal on an Islander Freeport 36 landed in my lap.

Beau Vent moors across the creek from us. This design is a great boat, that features a double berth to port (“pullman” style berth). The head is all the way forward, occupying the entire peak.

I really like the big windows and the roomy accommodations.  9 feet longer than our boat, and untold greater volume, yet still this boat is basically a boat for two people.  You can accommodate a third, or a fourth if they are a couple, but not comfortably.  There are berths for four, but it’s hard for me to imagine over-nighting with that extra couple on board.  Here is some more data on the IF-36 if you’re interested.

As we ran out from under the breeze, we were plagued with flies.  This I cannot tolerate, so we dropped sails motored for home.  Once back inside the arms of the bay, the breeze returned, but it was too close to lunch time, and the heat was increasing.  There was a grilled cheese sandwich and a nap in my afternoon plans.

Heading for the marina, lunch, and a reposo.

 

2 comments
  1. If we ever downsize (and I guess we will, but picture me with my fingers in my ears going “LA-la-la-la”), it will be to a Freeport 36. It’s a great design.

    (OOps – now I just raised the competition!)

    bob
    s/v Eolian
    Seattle

  2. I guess there is a point at which folks feel unable or unwilling to handle a larger boat. I can understand that, especially with respect to trimming and raising sails – actions that could take a fair amount of strength. I’ve heard/read of sailors that sail deep into their 70s and even 80s, and it seems that the ones who go the longest sail smarter. Some of them have systems which compensate for strength, but some have labor-saving techniques – the “smarts” of sailing that I envy so. Seamanship with decades of experience applied.

    My pause for changing boats would be having to start all over again fixing things that are broken or unreliable, tweaking the living space to optimize convenience, and trusting the gear that I haven’t evaluated by dint of use and experience. A whole-sale change in my approach to finances would be in order as well – we would have to give up a land-based life for a larger boat, and I don’t know when we will be ready for that.

    Still, and Islander Freeport at the right price…

Leave a Reply

