Final Bung Blog and Cabin Heat on a Cold, Rainy Day

The Last Bung Blog

Really, this will be my last post about bungs.  Not thrilling to read about, I think, but kind of exciting to finish, because you are left with a completely finished surface.  No holes, no unsightly screw heads.

Plugs fitted, trimmed, and fiddles varnished. I see now that I only got one bung really anywhere near in focus. Perhaps it gives you the idea anyway...

I finally plugged three holes that have been open for a long time in the photo below.  There was no excuse not to do it before.  I just hadn’t purposed to do it as part of any project, so it remained undone.  I did these, and 8 holes in the teak bridge deck threshold, which isn’t pictured here.

This fiddle's a larger size, and took regular 3/8" plugs.

Cabin Heat

I’m happy to report that my expectation for the Trawler lamp to provide adequate heat was on target. Several days ago, when Pennsylvania, Baltimore, and the Shenandoah valley were getting a late snow storm, we got a day of rain and 40 – 45 degree (f) temps with blustery wind.  Perfect day to check on the effectiveness of my heating system.

I spent a half hour on the boat with the lamp lit and one burner of the new galley stove lit.  The boat warmed up quickly, and I was able to shut off the stove after 10 minutes.  The lamp, even turned down to a lower setting, kept the chill out of the cabin.  We won’t sail in the dead of winter – just early and late season trips.  Below freezing weather would demand an insulated boat and a real heating system. But for late and early season sailing, the lamp and stove will be more than sufficient.

The circular wick is about 2.5 inches across. When it begins to draw, it produces more heat than you expect. Much more than the common flat-wicked lamps.

This is a poor photo, but just to illustrate the lit stove burner.

This photo was originally designed to show case the finished bungs, but it occurred to me that the lit burner was visible also.

4 comments
  1. Jan Sopoci said:

    The larger fiddel’s got delusions of being a viola, perhaps. ;-)
    Where did you find the lamp, btw, and is that an alcohol stove?

    • Jan,

      :-) You’re just stringing me along…

      I found the trawler lamp (it also has a a big brass hanging frame, just like you would expect, but I only use lamp with the frame in my home on the off-season) abandoned outside a marina office door in Florida when we lived there, and I adopted it (how’s that for a run-on sentence?). Pretty amazing find, as these lamps sell new for $250 – $350.

      Yes, the stove is an Origo 3000 non-pressure alcohol stove. We haven’t cruised with it yet but used it in our home a couple times after getting it this past December. It takes a little longer to heat stuff up, but there doesn’t seem to be anything you can’t cook on it. If you’re not in a hurry (we’re sailboat owners, after all), they work absolutely fine, and are very safe.

      • Addendum: The stove worked great two nights ago, when we over-nighted. Lots of heating/cooking power, lots of control over heat levels.

      • Jan Sopoci said:

        I’ve not had a chance to fool around with my stove, but it DOES work. That’s a bit down on my “list”, LOL.

Leave a Reply

